International Fellowships


AAUW advances equality for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy, and research. AAUW breaks through educational and economic barriers so that all women have a fair chance. AAUW is a nationwide network of more than 170,000 members and supporters, 1,000 local branches, and 800 college and university partners.
AAUW is one of the nation’s largest sources of private funding exclusively for educational programs that directly benefit women and girls. Every year AAUW awards fellowships and grants to more than 200 women. In principle and practice, AAUW values and seeks a diverse membership. There shall be no barriers to full participation in this organization on the basis of gender, race, creed, age, sexual orientation, national origin, disability, or class.

Program Purpose

The International Fellowship program has been in existence since 1917. The program provides support for one year of graduate or postgraduate study in the United States to women who are not U.S. citizens or permanent residents. (Women holding dual citizenship in the U.S. and another country are not eligible.) Preference is given to women who show prior commitment to the advancement of women and girls through civic, community, or professional work. Fellowships are available for study in the U.S. A limited number of awards are available to women who are members of the International Federation of University Women (IFUW; see List of IFUW Member Organizations) for study in any country other than their own.
Up to five International Master’s/First Professional Degree Fellowships will be renewable for a second year; renewal instructions will be provided to fellows during their fellowship year.

Award Amounts

  • Master’s/First Professional Degree: $18,000
  • Doctoral:  $20,000 
  • Postdoctoral: $30,000 


December 1, 2014, by 5:00 p.m., Central Time

Deadline for online submission of application

December 8, 2014, by 5:00 p.m., Central Time

Deadline for online submission of recommendations

April 15, 2015

Notification of awards mailed to all applicants. Fellows and Grantees posted on AAUW’s website. AAUW is not able to honor requests for earlier notification.

July 1, 2015—June 30, 2016

Fellowship year